81 new teaching school hubs announced

The Department for Education (DfE) has announced that £65m of new funding will be provided to add 81 new teaching school hubs (TSH) to enable every school in England to have a local centre of excellence and greater access to expert teacher training and development.

The 81 hubs will be operational from September; each with its own defined geographical area, and will be expected to be accessible to all schools within that area, to serve around 250 schools each.

The 81 new hubs will be rolled out in addition to the six existing test & learn TSH which were appointed in January 2020, and will run for an initial three years.

The hubs will also help in delivering the Early Career Framework reforms when this is available nationally from September 2021, as well as in delivering a reformed suite of National Professional Qualifications (NPQs) including new specialist NPQs. They will also deliver Initial Teaching Training and additional high-quality evidence based professional development.

School’s minister Nick Gibb said: “We know teachers are already providing the best education possible for pupils, and this is especially true while schools are closed to most pupils. These new Teaching School Hubs will further support the profession by providing the best possible training and development opportunities.

“It is important that teachers and school leaders feel supported in their career. The hubs will make this substantially easier, with expert practitioners able to give experienced advice to those schools able to benefit from it.”

The full list of TSH can be viewed here: Teaching school hubs – GOV.UK (

You may also like...