Tes Schools Awards 2024 shortlist announced

Schools and teachers across the country have been shortlisted in this year’s Tes Schools Awards. The Tes Schools Awards awards programme which celebrates education achievements across the UK.

Teachers and schools from UK state and independent schools, across early years settings, primary and secondary, can enter the awards.

The shortlist was compiled by a panel of judges which includes school leaders and experts. There are 21 award categories, covering all areas of school education, which teachers and schools can enter.

Jon Severs, editor of Tes Magazine said: “Congratulations to all the shortlisted entries – the standard was so high this year despite the challenges schools face. 

“It is critical we celebrate excellence and share it widely so we can ensure that the fantastic work happening in education is properly recognised.”

Winners will be announced 21 June at a glittering gala awards night at the Grosvenor Hotel, Park Lane, in London.

North West schools and individuals were shortlisted.

Penketh South Primary school and Nursery in Cheshire are shortlisted Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Setting of the Year, while Bolton School is in the running for the Excellence in Creative Arts award. 

Holly McClure from Seaton Academy, Cumbria, is shortlisted for the 2024 Primary Curriculum Leader of the Year title, while Julliet Doherty from Ascent Autism Specialist College is a finalist for the Specialist Provision School Leader of the Year award. Cara Slater from Birtenshaw School in Greater Manchester is shortlisted for Tes’ Teaching Assistant of the Year award.

Grange School is shortlisted for the Specialist Provision School of the Year award, while Merseyside’s Oak Trees MAT (multi academy trust) is a finalist for the Trust team of year +10 trusts award.

Some categories had several North West schools shortlisted, including:

Primary School of the Year

– Handforth Grange Primary School, Cheshire 

– St Peters Farnworth, Lancashire

– Kings Road Primary School, Manchester

Pupil Mental Health Initiative of the Year

– Lime Tree Primary Academy, Greater Manchester

– Maricourt Catholic High School, Maghull

Secondary School of the Year

– Chorlton High School, Greater Manchester

– Burnage Academy for Boys, Greater Manchester

Staff Wellbeing School of the Year

– Lime Tree Primary Academy, Greater Manchester

– St Damian’s RC Science College, Lancashire

– Grange School, Manchester

Subject Lead of the Year (Secondary)

– Katie Evans, Manchester Academy

– Lisa James, Trinity C of E High School in Manchester

The Tim Brighouse Community Engagement Initiative of the Year

– The Ellesmere Port C of E College, Cheshire

– Crompton House CofE Secondary School, Greater Manchester

You may also like...