North West schools and colleges honoured at the Educate Awards

19 inspiring schools and colleges from the Liverpool City Region, Greater Manchester, Cheshire and Lancashire, won at the Educate Awards on Friday 18 November.  

Now in its eleventh year, the Educate Awards showcases the hard work and creativity that takes place in the education sector, from STEM and performing arts to sport and literacy.  

The awards also recognise the individuals who bring schools and colleges to life, from inspiring teachers and dedicated support staff to efficient business managers and strategic leadership teams. 

In partnership with Copyrite Systems and Ricoh, the Educate Awards took place at the Liverpool Cathedral and welcomed over 600 guests. The evening was hosted by broadcaster, Simon ‘Rossie’ Ross. 

Alongside the awards ceremony was a delicious three course gala dinner and glittering entertainment from St Bede’s Catholic High School’s very own saxophonist and chamber choir, a dance performance from Archbishop Beck Catholic College and a Legally Blonde The Musical medley by St Mary’s Catholic College. 

Kim O’Brien, founder of the Educate Awards, said: “Congratulations to all the schools and colleges that won at this year’s Educate Awards!  

“A big well done to the runners up and finalists too. Results this year were incredibly close, and judges had a difficult time deciding not only the shortlist but also overall the winners.  

Kim added: “The Educate Awards team is proud to champion the innovation, diversity and dedication that is taking place in educational establishments around the region. Entries will open again in February 2023 and we encourage all types of schools and colleges to submit as many entries as they like, for free.” 

Associate sponsors of the Educate Awards 2022 include: All About STEM, Angel Solutions, CER, CPMM Media Group, Evaluate-Ed, Hidden Strength, LCR Careers Hub, Liverpool John Moores University, LSSP, Progress Careers, SENDSCOPE, SupplyWell and Winstanley College.  

The Educate Awards 2022 winners and runners up: 

1. The Communication Award 

Winner: Litherland High School, Sefton 

Runner up: Maricourt Catholic High School, Sefton 

2. Outstanding Commitment to the Environment 

Winner: Neston High School, Cheshire 

Runner up: Netherton Moss Primary School, Sefton 

3. Careers & Enterprise Award 

Winner: Wirral Grammar School for Boys 

Runner up: Ridgeway High School, Wirral 

4. SEND Provision Award 

Winner: Notre Dame Catholic College, Liverpool 

Runner up: Rainford High, St Helens 

5. Innovative & Creative Literacy Award 

Winner: Eldon Primary School, Preston 

Runner up: Cowley International College, St Helens 

6. Outstanding Commitment to STEM 

Winner: Maghull High School, Sefton 

Runner up: Great Crosby Catholic Primary School, Sefton 

7. Outstanding Arts in School 

Winner: The Hollins, Accrington 

Runner up: Stockport Academy, Greater Manchester 

8. Community Partnership Award 

Winner: Archbishop Blanch School, Liverpool 

Runner up: Chorlton High School, Manchester 

9. Mental Health & Wellbeing Award 

Winner: St Michael’s Catholic Primary School, Widnes 

Runner up: Wright Robinson College, Manchester 

10. Outstanding Commitment to Sport in Primary School 

Winner: St Elizabeth’s Catholic Primary School, Sefton 

Runner up: St Joseph’s Catholic Primary School, Wallasey, Wirral 

11. Outstanding Commitment to Sport in Secondary School 

Winner: Wright Robinson College, Manchester 

Runner up: Rainford High, St Helens 

12. Leadership Team of the Year 

Winner: St Wilfrid’s Church of England Primary Academy, Wigan 

Runner up: Wright Robinson College, Manchester 

13. Business Manager of the Year 

Winner: Sue McMullen, St Michael’s Catholic Primary School, Widnes 

Runner up: Stuart Davidson, Myerscough College, Preston 

14. Teacher of the Year 

Winner: Kira Redmond, St Peter’s CE Primary School, Bolton 

Runner up: Stephanie Wardale, Hillside High School, Sefton 

15. School Support Star of the Year 

Winner: Mike Smith, Cardinal Langley RC High School, Rochdale 

Runner up: Mark Costello, Launchpad Centre KS4, St Helens 

16. Most Inspirational Alternative Provision  

Winner: Endeavour-Darwen Vale High School, Blackburn 

Runner up: Holy Family Catholic Multi Academy Trust, Wirral 

17. Most Inspirational 16-18 Education Provider 

Winner: Wargrave House School and College, Newton-le-Willows 

Runner up: Everton Football College, Liverpool 

18. Most Inspirational Secondary School 

Winner: Rainford High, St Helens 

Runner up: The Hollins, Accrington 

19. Most Inspirational Primary School 

Winner: Parish CE Primary School, St Helens 

Runner up: St Peter’s CE Primary School, Bolton 

20. WOW Recognition Award 

Winner: The Academy of St Nicholas, Liverpool 

Runner up: Beech Hall School, Cheshire 

You may also like...